Combined general meeting

Press release
  • Resolutions proposed by AREVA’s Supervisory Board approved
  • Jean-Cyril Spinetta reelected Chairman of the group’s Supervisory Board

The Combined General Meeting of AREVA met in Paris on Wednesday, April 27, 2011, under the chairmanship of Jean-Cyril Spinetta, Chairman of the Supervi-sory Board of the group.

The 21 resolutions put to vote by AREVA’s shareholders were adopted. In particular, during the Meeting:

  • the statutory and consolidated accounts for the year 2010 were approved;
  • all the resolutions proposed in respect of current operations on AREVA’s share capital were also approved.

The General meeting also renewed 5 members of the Supervisory Board of AREVA, whose mandate was reaching term and appointed two new members.

Following members have been renewed:

  • Christophe BEHAR
  • Bernard BIGOT
  • Christophe GEGOUT
  • Guylaine SAUCIER
  • Jean-Cyril SPINETTA

Ms. Sophie BOISSARD and Ms. Agnès LEMARCHAND were appointed in re-placement of Messrs Oscar FANJUL and René RICOL.

At the Supervisory Board meeting which followed the General Meeting, Jean-Cyril SPINETTA was reelected for five years as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of AREVA.

The Supervisory Board of the group is now composed as follows:

Members appointed by the General Meeting

  • Jean-Cyril SPINETTA, Chairman of the Supervisory Board
  • Bernard BIGOT, Vice-Chairman of the Supervisory Board
  • Christophe BEHAR
  • Sophie BOISSARD
  • François DAVID
  • Guylaine SAUCIER
  • Christophe GEGOUT, as representative of the CEA.

Members representing the French State, appointed by ministerial decree

  • Jean-Dominique COMOLLI
  • Pierre-Franck CHEVET
  • Pierre SELLAL

Members representing the employees and elected by the personnel

  • Jean-Claude BERTRAND
  • Gérard MELET

Biographical information

  • Sophie BOISSARD

Alumnus of the Ecole Normale Superieure and the Ecole Nationale d'Administration, Sophie BOISSARD has been a State Councilor and Executive Committee member of the SNCF since 2009. She leads the Stations & Connections division devoted to station management and development.

She previously served as Deputy Chief of Staff under Christine Lagarde, at the Ministry for the Economy, Industry and Employment from 2007 to 2008 and directed the Planning Commission at the time of its transformation into a Center for strategic analysis within the Prime Minister’s office. From 2006 to 2007 she served on the Committee for Nuclear Energy.

Sophie BOISSARD is also a director of AERP, a 100% subsidiary of SNCF, and of GIAT Industries and Eurostazioni.


Agnes Lemarchand, who graduated from ENSCP (Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris), MIT and INSEAD, has spent her entire career in industry.

After leading Rhône Poulenc subsidiary Industrie Biologique Française, she directed Ciments Français’ Industrial Minerals business before joining Lafarge where she was appointed CEO of the group’s lime mortars division between 1999 and 2004. She currently chairs a former subsidiary of Lafarge in the UK, Steetley Dolomite Ltd., following a management buyout. This company specializes in the sale of lime to the steel and refractory industries in Europe.

Agnès LEMARCHAND is also member of the Supervisory Board of MERSEN (ex Carbone Lorraine), and that of the SICLAE group.

  • AREVA Press Office:
    Julien Duperray / Katherine Berezowskyj / Aurélie Grange / Jérôme Rosso 
    Tel: +33 1 34 96 12 15 - Fax: +33 1 34 96 16 54

  • AREVA Investors Relations:
    Manuel Lachaux
    Anne-Sophie Jugean
    Tél : +33 1 34 96 11 53